Jack’s Snack Box – the store cupboard was bare…

Quails eggs in the morning!

Oh, what to do? The cupboard was almost bare but a lucky packet of quail’s eggs saved Jack’s snackbox today! Dried apple, boiled and lightly salted eggs, mandarin and lemon juiced apples. I think that will keep him happy!

Quail’s eggs (bless, they are just so cute) are one of our favourite things. They keep well in the fridge and take a few minutes to prepare. Place eggs in a warm pot of water and bring to a good simmer for approx 4 minutes. Plunge into cold water in order to peel. They are creamier and less eggy somehow than hen’s eggs. For any  leftover eggs, add some butter, finely chopped herbs, a tad of milk and mash for a sandwich, cracker topping.

Cakes and pies at our fav organic cafe

Yes, The Food Forum likes to dine out and this cafe Baklust (Veenkade in The Hague, The Netherlands) is our home away from home. We look forward to popping into their bright retro feel good cafe. There are toys for your kids, mismatched china, tea pots like your nana had and above all they are just lovely folk. The coffee is good for the grown-ups and my daughter is a fan of their tapenade toasted sandwiches. I rather like their cakes, I confess. My favourite is the carrot cake but Jack is keen on the chocolate tart. My friend Eva likes their soups and salads. In fact could it be time for a coffee?? Open Tuesday to Sunday 10 – 18.00. Try breakfast on Sunday and you may just see our noisy lot there. See http://absolutelyTheHague.wordpress.com for more information. I’m off for a quick power coffee.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. purplejake
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 22:22:53

    I love yhour blog, K – it makes me hungry! Photo’s and presentation are superb. I’ve mentioned you in my latest post and added you to my blogroll. I love this throwaway line: “pomegranate leather from the Persian shop on the Boekhorststraat”. Have no idea what it is but I’m going there to get me some! xx

    Reply

    • foodforum
      Nov 11, 2010 @ 20:32:57

      Thanks so much! I rather like yours too!!! I must admit I have a lot to say about food (and other things)! but feel I never really get the time to experiment enough, take enough photos or do enough cooking! Will get though and maybe even get more kids eating real food! And cooking it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 697 other followers

RSS my school lunch blog

The Compassion Collective Blog

The Compassion Collective is a collaboration of designers who create art, t-shirts and accessories in aid of our favourite animal welfare charities and non-profits.

YogaLifeNutrition

Sharing inspiration, questions, insights, observations, recipies and more from my life and my work with yoga, nutrition and personal training

RandomOuting

Places to go, people to meet.....

Midnight brambling

Lia Leendertz's gardening blog

Stacey Nicholson

Lover of Brand, Strategic Communications and Customer Experience

isobel buiter

word & image

Emily Smith Pearce

Children's Author, Maker of Stuff, Less-Meatarian

The Singing Warrior

finding happiness after a past filled with pain

myschoollunchbox

taking the stress out of lunch boxes and learning about food

